Colette Bleistine: Proactive Approach to Life

I had the honor of meeting Colette Bleistine through the Public Relations department at Rowan University.  She truly is an incredible human being and has been a huge inspiration to me even though I just met her only a few months ago. Bleistine is a perfect example of my favorite attitude quote by Charles R Swindoll, “…life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it..”  She is extremely active in and outside of college despite her struggle with cystic fibrosis. Bleistine started Colettezels, her personal side business making chocolate covered treats and donates some of the profits to charity along with her involvement with different nonprofit  organizations. Her positive energy is contagious and I wanted to share her story with others.

Q: Your name and where your from, where you go to school what you are studying and why?

A: My name is Colette Bleistine. I study Public Relations at Rowan University.  I love being a PR Major because I love interacting with people!  Organizing and planning events is my forte.  My vivacious personality certainly qualifies me for this field of work.

Q: What inspired you to start making these pretzels?

A: I have been making chocolate covered pretzels for my family for Christmas since I was in high school. In the spring of 2009 I decided to make pink pretzels for my cousin’s 1st birthday party.  The guests at the party were so impressed that they said they would buy them for their child’s party! That’s when the wheels started turning! I went home and experimented with chocolate; dipping anything and everything in that milky goodness until I came up with the right combinations.  I now make chocolate covered Oreos, chocolate covered peanut butter sandwich cookies and pretzel rods in addition to the regular pretzels.  During the holiday season I like to try new recipes.  Peppermint bark pretzels and my own homemade version of the thin mint girl scout cookie are at hit around Christmas.

Q: What are the benefits?

Everyone loves chocolate! I love making people happy by sharing my product with them.

Q: What are your biggest hardships with it and any set backs you encounter?

A: Making Colettezels is very time consuming and can become frustrating at times.  There are several steps in addition to the prep work and the clean up.  Working with chocolate in the summer is very difficult due to the heat.  I have to be very careful that the pretzels do not become stale while I’m making them due to the humidity.

Q: What keeps you motivated?

A: Although sometimes I want to quit because the process is very tedious, I love seeing the joy on people’s faces when I give them a bag or plate of Colettezels.  The satisfaction I get from giving back outweighs the frustration I face while making them.

Q: Where do you see yourself in community outreach and with Colettezels in the future?

A: Same answer as below about the Great Strides Walk. I want to spread awareness as well as my amazing story of CF with the world. My Colettezel business is only a side project.  I do not plan on expanding or making a future career out of it.  I initially started so I could donate partial proceeds to charity.  It is just something fun I do. It’s become more of a charity than a business.  I have the occasional Bridal shower or baby shower and of course tons of Christmas orders.  But, it is not something I do everyday.

Q: Where do the donations go and why that cause?

A: My donations go towards a Christian foundation called Kids Alley based out of Camden.  They provide different events as well as after school services for kids in Camden where they can do homework, socialize and learn about God.

I also donate towards the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation as I have CF myself.

Q: Any other type of community outreach that you do?

A: I have a disease called Cystic Fibrosis.  This illness has many adverse affects on my body but mainly affects my lungs, making it hard for me to breathe.

For the past twelve years I have acted as a team leader in the annual Cystic Fibrosis Walk for my team, “Colette’s Cuties”. During the past 3 walks, I have taken a more integral role in helping to plan the entire event.  Last year, I had 130 people walk on my team.  I raise money by sending letters to all of my family and friends asking for donations along with coordinating fundraisers through local businesses.  On average, I raise about $12,000 per year for the CF Foundation.

Q:What else do you want to get involved with?

A: I would like to venture into non-profit PR.  Philanthropy is one of my passions.  Doing PR for the Make-A-Wish Foundation, the ASPCA or for the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia is one of my goals.  Therefore, I would love to volunteer for any of those organizations in the near future.

Q: What is the single most important thing that you want to achieve through community outreach, awareness or volunteering and why?

A: I gain the greatest satisfaction when I am giving back to my community.  I am so fortunate in my life that donating my time to activities where I can give back to others is now a passion of mine. I think “paying it forward” is the greatest feeling in the world.  I would like to spread my love to philanthropy and giving to others, so they can experience the same wonderful gratification and self-fulfillment that I do.

~ by sheelbhuta831 on December 15, 2011.

Leave a comment